Did you Know?



2014 will be the 21st annual OVCA Junior Superspiel. Year one the Champions won $1,000, now they get $4,000.
12 men's and 4 women's teams played in our event its first year.
2006 Canadian Brier Champ and World Silver Medalist, Jean-Michel Ménard, played in the SuperSpiel in 1995 and won the consolation event.
Four World Junior Women’s Champions have played in our event: Silvana Tirinzoni of Switzerland (1999), Matilda Mattsson, Sweden (2000), Suzanne Gaudet, Canada (2001), Tania Grivel, Switzerland (2005) and Hannah Fleming (2012).
Four World Junior Men’s Champs have played in our event: Rolph Stoëckli, Switzerland (1997), John Morris, Canada (1998 & 1999), Brad Gushue, Canada (2001), Chris Plys, USA (2008). Ottawa’s John Morris and Craig Savill are two time World Junior Champions. They won the SuperSpiel in 1997. Since moving up with the big guys they have each won Canadian and World Championships, Savill with Glenn Howard in 2007 and 2012 and Morris with Kevin Martin in 2008. Morris recently won Olympic Gold in 2010. They played in the SuperSpiel for 5 consecutive years, 1994 -1998!
2006 Olympic Gold Medallist Brad Gushue played in the Superspiel in 1999, qualifying and then losing to NB's Tom Girvan.
Ottawa’s Jenn Hanna, who was Canadian Jr. runner-up in 1998 as well as Canadian Ladies runner-up in 2005, won the SuperSpiel in 1998. She played in this event for 7 consecutive years from 1994 to 2000!
Marie France Larouche, Canadian Junior Champion in 1999 and Canadian Ladies runner-up in 2004 played in this event 5 times from 1994 to1997 and in  1999.
Tyler Morgan,  Jamie Farnell  and Matt Broder are the only three time winners in SuperSpiel history: Morgan in 1999, 2000 and 2001. Farnell and Broder in 2000, 2001 and 2002.
Women's teams won the SuperSpiel 4 times in the 13 years it was an integrated event.  Dominique Lascelles in 1994, Jenn Hanna in 1998, Laura Payne in 2004 and Rachel Homan in 2006, the last year the event was integrated. All are OVCA teams. Rachel Homan and her third Emma Miskew, played in the SuperSpiel a record nine times, won in 2006 and again in 2009, their final year as juniors. They went on to win the Canadian Junior Championship and a World Silver medal in 2009.
Canadian Champion Vic Peters' son Daley played in our event in 2001 and 2004.
World Champion Ed Werenich's sons, Ryan and Darren, both played in 1994 and 1995 and Ryan continued to play in 1996 and 1997.
World and Olympic Champion Russ Howard’s son Steve played in our event in 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004. Glenn Howard's son Scott played in 2008.
Rick Lang's daughter Sarah played in our event in 2008, Rick was the team coach.
The “Ménard curling factory” from next door Gatineau in La Belle Province, has put teams in our event for 11 out of our first 15 years of existence!! Nicholas played in 1994, 1996 and 1997, Canadian Brier Champ Jean-Michel played in 1995, Martin played in 1997, 1999 and 2001. Catherine played in 2000 and 2002. Phillippe played in 2002,2003, 2005 and  2006. Merci and congratulations to coach/father Robert Ménard!




Past Champions - Seperate Events  

Year Men's Champion Club City   Women's Champion Club City
2022 Jayden King RCMP CC Ottawa, ON Xenia Schwaller Grasshopper Club Zurich, SUI
2021 Cancelled (COVID-19) Cancelled (COVID-19)
2020 Cancelled (COVID-19) Cancelled (COVID-19)
2019 Yves Wagenseil CC Bern  Bern, SUI Mackenzie Zacharias Altona CC Altona, MB 
2018 JT Ryan Assiniboine Mem CC Winnipeg, MB Kayla Skrlik Falher CC Falher, AB
2017 Matthew Manuel Mayflower CC  Halifax, NS  Kaitlyn Jones  Chester CC  Chester, NS
2016 Tanner Horgan Idylwylde G&CC Sudbury, ON Emma Wallingford Carleton Heights CC Ottawa, ON
2015 Bruce Mouat Edinburgh, SCO Edinburgh, SCO Lauren Horton  Almonte CC  Almonte, ON
2014 Korey Dropkin Four Seasons CC Blaine, MN, USA Lauren Horton  Almonte CC  Almonte, ON
2013 Rene Comeau Capital WC Fredericton, NB Kendall Haymes  Listowel CC  Listowel, ON
2012 Stuart Thompson Mayflower CC Halifax, NS Selena Kaatz  St. Vital CC  Winnipeg, MB
2011 Brennan Wark Port Arthur CC Thunder Bay, ON Hannah Fleming  Lockerbie Ice Rink  Lockerbie, SCO
2010 Joey Witherspoon Fort Rouge CC Winnipeg, MB Lauren Gray  Lockerbie Ice Rink  Lockerbie, SCO
2009 Connor Duhaime Weston G&CC Toronto, ON Rachel Homan  Ottawa CC  Ottawa, ON
2008 Travis Fanset St. Thomas CC St. Thomas, ON Kaitlyn Lawes  Pembina CC  Winnipeg, MB
2007 Manuel Ruch CC Uzwil Uzwil, SUI Marlene Albrecht  CC Zurich  Zurich, SUI


 Past Champions - Combined Event

Year Champion Club City
2006 Rachel Homan Ottawa CC Ottawa, ON
2005 Dan Sherarrd Riverside CC Rothesay, NB
2004 Laura Payne Prescott CC Prescott, ON
2003 Mike McLean Ottawa CC Ottawa, ON
2002 Chris Ciasnocha Rideau CC Ottawa, ON
2001 Tyler Morgan  Burlington CC Burlington, ON
2000 Tyler Morgan  Burlington CC Burlington, ON
1999 Jason Young Lindsay CC Lindsay, ON
1998 Jenn Hanna Ottawa CC Ottawa, ON
1997 John Morris Ottawa CC Ottawa, ON
1996 Greg Balsdon St. Catharine's G&CC St. Catharine's, ON
1995 Christien Viens CC de la Vallée Amqui, QC
1994 Dominique Lascelles Hawkesbury CC Hawkesbury, ON





Host Clubs


2026 Scott Street, Ottawa, ON K1Z 6T1
(613) 722-1843
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">Manager: Denise Hoekstra
Carleton Heights Curling Club
1436 Normandy Crescent, Ottawa ON K2C 0N6
(613) 224-6224
Manager: Don Richardson
50 Capilano Drive, Ottawa, ON K2E 6G4
(613) 224-1737
Contact: Gord Stockdlae
1 Navy Private, Ottawa, ON K1Y 4J3
(613) 236-5103
Manager: Linda Cox
5519 South River Drive, Manotick ON K4M 1J3
(613) 692-1489
Contact: Michael Coldwell
440 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, ON K2P 1W4
(613) 234-4119
Manager: Dalal Abou-Eid
115 St Laurent Blvd, Ottawa, ON K1K 2Y2
(613) 749-7086
Contact: Tom Sinclair
199 Langstaff Dr, Carp, ON K0A 1L0
(613) 839-3177
Contact: Ross Cotten
Almonte Curling Club (Qualifier Host Club)
160 Bridge Street, Almonte, ON K0A1A0
(613) 256-4560